The Healthcare Foundation Appoints New Members to 2019 – 2020 Board of Trustees


OCTOBER 25, 2019

The Healthcare Foundation recently announced its board of trustees for 2019-20.

“We are excited to welcome this group of talented individuals to the Board of Trustees,” says William Chapman, chairman. “They will all be instrumental in carrying out the mission of the Healthcare Foundation.”

Deborah Kabinoff rejoins the board after a brief hiatus. Ms. Kabinoff served on the board from 2015-2018 and has co-chaired several fundraising events including the Women & Medicine Educational Luncheon. She holds an MBA and Master’s Certificate in Health Services Management and has been a featured speaker at national meetings of healthcare executives.

Eric Kaplan is new to the Healthcare Foundation board but is currently a trustee at the Louis & Gloria Flanzer Philanthropic Trust. He also serves as vice-chair of the Jewish Family & Children’s Services of the Suncoast, a member of the Boys and Girls Club of Sarasota and a member of the board of Sarasota Private Bank and Trust Co.

Gwen MacKenzie, former Sarasota Memorial Health Care System CEO, also joins the board. Ms. MacKenzie served as an executive at Ascension Health in Michigan for the past 5 years. She has a Master’s degree in Nursing and is a former advanced nurse practitioner in oncology. She currently splits her time between Bloomfield Hills, Michigan and Sarasota.

Kirk Voelker, M.D, Director of Clinical Research at SMH, returns to the Healthcare Foundation board. Dr. Voelker is an associate professor at Florida State University College of Medicine, a co-founder of Quit Doc Research & Education Foundation, an anti-tobacco advocacy foundation, and former chairman of the Healthcare Foundation’s Grants Committee

The new trustees join the current board: William E. Chapman, II, Jim D. Syprett, Charles W. Shivery, Richard J. Gerrity, Mary Evelyn Guyton, Philip A. Delaney, Jr., William A. Stanford, Michael J. Valentino, Robert Lee Wood, Robert G. Bartner, Ariane M. Dart, John H. De Jongh, Thomas F. Kelly, Robert P. Martin, Jonathan E. Mitchell, Joel Morganroth, Margaret Wise.

Get Involved

Sign up to receive updates about Sarasota Memorial Healthcare Foundation



Together we strengthen