The Healthcare Foundation Announces New Leadership For its 2021-2022 Board of Trustees


OCTOBER 5, 2021

Sarasota Memorial Healthcare Foundation announced its 2021-2022 Board of Trustees with Michael J. Valentino becoming Board Chairman.

“Mike has been a driving force on the Healthcare Foundation board since he joined four years ago and we are thrilled to have him in this new role. His business acumen and passion for healthcare excellence has helped propel our organization forward,” says Healthcare Foundation president, Mason Ayres. I would also like to thank Phil Delaney for his service as Board Chairman this past year. His leadership played an integral part in our success.”


Michael J. Valentino, Board of Trustees Chairman

Incoming Board Chair, Mike Valentino, has an extensive background in healthcare. He is currently Executive Chairman of the Board for PLx Pharma Inc. Previously, he was EVP and Global Head of Consumer Pharmaceuticals for Novartis and built start-up ARxT into a specialty pharmaceutical company with nearly $500 million in annual revenue from leading brand Mucinex. Mike joined the Healthcare Foundation board in 2017 chairing the Marketing & Development Committee since 2019.

“I am incredibly honored to assume the role of board chair for 2021-2022. While the last year-and-a-half presented the Healthcare Foundation and Sarasota Memorial Health Care System with unprecedented challenges, I am proud of what the organization and our board has been able to accomplish.” says Valentino.  “I am confident that with our outstanding roster of visionaries and leaders, the momentum will continue.”


Board Chair – Mike Valentino
Immediate Past Chair –  Philip A. Delaney Jr.
Vice Chair – Deb Kabinoff
Treasurer – Joel Morganroth, M.D.
Secretary – Gwen MacKenzie

2021-2022 Committee Leadership:
Executive – Mike Valentino, Chair
Audit – Jonathan E. Mitchell, Chair
Development & Marketing – Gwen MacKenzie, Chair
Finance & Investments – Joel Morganroth, M.D., Chair
Governance & Compensation – Mary Evelyn Guyton, Chair
Grants – Deb Kabinoff, Chair

2021-2022 Trustees: Mike Valentino, Chair; Philip A. Delaney Jr., Immediate Past Chair; Deb Kabinoff, Vice Chair; Joel Morganroth, M.D., Treasurer; Gwen MacKenzie, Secretary; Robert G. Bartner; Ariane Dart; Gary F. Dornbush; John Giglio; Mary Evelyn Guyton; Eric Kaplan; Thomas F. Kelly; Robert P. Martin; Diane B. Mayer; Jonathan E. Mitchell; Barbara Rodkin; Eric Spiegel; Sandra K. Stuart; David Verinder (Ex Officio); Kirk G. Voelker, M.D. and Robert L. Wood

Learn more.

Get Involved

Sign up to receive updates about Sarasota Memorial Healthcare Foundation



Healthcare Foundation Receives Over $2,500,000 to Support Kolschowsky Research and Education Institute
The Morganroths' gift will help train medical staff, expand the health system’s residency programs and attract and retain top medical professionals.

Together we strengthen